Sent Home Due to Lack of Work

I reported to work one day and was sent home after one hour of work because there wasn’t enough work me to do for the entire day. I was not able to complete my 6-hour shift. Am I entitled to reporting time pay?

Yes. You are entitled to reporting time pay for 2 hours. If you are sent home after working less than half of your scheduled shift because of insufficient work for you to do, you must be paid reporting time pay for half of your scheduled shift. In your case, this would be 3 hours. Since you worked one hour before being sent home, you must be paid for 2 hours of reporting time pay. If you are not paid reporting time pay, you may file a reporting time pay wage claim to recover your wages.

Example:

Jane showed up to work for her 6-hour shift and was sent home after just one hour of work since there wasn’t enough work to do. Jane is entitled to reporting time pay. She should receive payment for half of her scheduled 6-hour shift, which is 3 hours. Jane worked one hour so she is entitled to an additional 2 hours of reporting time pay for that day. Jane can receive no less than 2 hours and no more than 4 hours of reporting time pay for a given shift for which she was sent home before working half of the shift. If Jane’s employer does not pay her for 2 hours of reporting time pay, Jane may file a reporting time pay wage claim in California to receive her lost wages.

If you have a question about California reporting time pay law or want to file a reporting time pay wage claim in California, contact Strauss Law Group now.